Being in a community is the most greatest feeling.

So I read this African proverb “if you want to go fast go alone but if you want to go far go together”. It got me thinking about a lot of things and one of them is the Kenyan rock and metal community.

Most rockers have no idea how good it feels to headbang with fellow rockers. I say this because for many years I missed many shows. Well, I will blame it on my laziness when it comes to social media.  Twitter is more of a sport’s update platform for me, majorly on Formula 1 and football. I don’t use either Facebook or Instagram. I had no idea what I was missing until I started attending the rock shows, clearly, my life sucked bigtime.

There’s no doubt that there are thousands of rockers in Kenya but whenever there’s an event only a number of people will be present the usual crowd. it gets me thinking where are all the rockers? is it that they are clueless about these gigs like I was years back? But, no, they are aware. They just choose not to show up. Maybe because they choose to be alone.

If you do, there is something you will never experience.

Imagine an event with an awesome lineup but fans do not show up. this demoralises the bands because they work so hard to ensure we are always entertained the same thing applies to a DJ who is very prepared to entertain his fans the whole night. So why not show up support them, mosh and meet fellow rockers(who are more like family), instead of just staying at home(probably alone) listening to your playlist.

 

Here is my question to you. If the songs that speak to you, the music that identifies with leaving behind the empty life, the fake friends and judgment why are you so afraid of fully becoming part of that ideal? If you are really drawn to the music and would want to rock out, trust me a community is the best way to experience it. You will meet very beautiful souls, real friends not the plastic kind. And if another human being breaks your heart worry not. there’s a healing in the moshpit. You will feel the most liberty you can ever hope to, even when the whole world is against you. So I am still asking myself why would anyone that enjoys rock music would want to miss this.

So I am still asking myself why would anyone that enjoys rock music would want to miss this.

by Yvonne Ndubi.

Also, here from Doveslimme that you can listen to.

579492_522229701148693_1078997105_n
We hope that Jillian resurfaces having learned to play that guitar.
Have your say

